Open Frankfurt

A blog about all and nothing: photography, travelling and more

Childhood memories

I clearly have a passion for art in a ‘non official’ meaning. I could go to a museum, spend some hours admiring some famous paintings, even go to an art gallery and try to understand some of the concepts and ideas of some modern artist. However I could never understand why someone would consider art and pay thousand dollars/ euros on a painting representing something that looks like spilled paint on a white sheet. I mean… there are children dying of hunger in Africa… If you have this kind of money there are certainly better ways of spending it (on the other hand, modern art might be to deep for me).

As I said, I could do this… even get some joy out of it, but (and here is my point) I would rather walk on the streets and see the ‘art’ there. And this art is not only on the walls, it is also in the people.

The art in people. This reminds me of a childhood song I used to love. And still do! Maybe most of you know it. I hope most of you know it! It’s worth knowing, so to say 🙂  ‘Seven seconds away’ (by Youssou N’Dour and Neneh Cherry). The lyrics might not be as complex as in the ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ (Queen), but I find its message to be so actual today as it was back in the 90’s! Tolerance. Hmm, 20 years later society didn’t change that much after all.

I used to listen this song on VH1, while having my breakfast on weekends. I link it automatically with the smell of toast and the sense of liberty (No school! Yuhuu! 😀 ) Back then I didn’t thought to much about tolerance, integration, acceptance or other similar subjects. But the song fascinated me. Especially the part where Youssou N’Dour sang. I couldn’t understand what he was saying, but it sounded so melodic and full of feelings! Somehow sad, but inspiring and giving hope in the same time.

The song transmitted me: The history of tolerance is not a happy one, but we can change it for the better. Together! (but then again, I was a child who didn’t understand all the words).

What are your thoughts about this song?

3 comments on “Childhood memories

  1. R.M.
    June 18, 2015

    a song that will never die!
    nice choice

    Like

  2. gRaF RoTz
    June 11, 2015

    ah, those are nice childhood memories 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2015 by in OFf the topic and tagged , , , , , , .
