Open Frankfurt

A blog about all and nothing: photography, travelling and more

Another day in paradise

On my way home from work I took the tram (Strassenbahn). At some point a controller comes and asks for our tickets. Ok, nothing extraordinary about that. I shown my ticket. Then the controller asks the guy next to me. The dialog between then was something like this:

Controller: Tickets please!

Guy: I don’t have any.

Controller: Do you have an ID?

Guy: No.

Controller: Where do you live? Do you live in Frankfurt?

Guy: No, I sleep at the train station tonight.

Controller: …. Next time buy a ticket!

Kind controller don’t you think?

This happening reminds me of the time I got caught without the right ticket. It was about 1 year ago. I thought I could use a short-haul (Kurzstrecke) to get home. This short line costs about 1 euro less than a normal ticket in Frankfurt (e.g. 2.75 euros). Problem is… I actually should have used a normal ticket.

I tried explaining to the controller, that I bought the wrong ticket by mistake. If I didn’t want to pay for the ride, I wouldn’t have bought any ticket at all. If I wanted to cheat, I would have done it for 2,75 euros, not only 1 euro!

Anyway, long story short, the controller didn’t understand this. I had to get our of the train (S-Bahn), give them my address and receive my 40,- euros fine. There were about 5-6 controllers that surrounded me like as was some kind of killer. I was really annoyed by this. Luckily when I went to pay my fine, the employee just made me pay 20,- euros. Very generous, what can I say.

Anyway, this brings me to some questions:

1) Should all persons be controlled the same way or not?

2) Is this an ethical treatment? (I felt a bit discriminated thinking about the way they treated me 1 year ago. On the other hand, I don’t live on the streets, thank God!, I can afford to pay the 20,- euros).

3) Was the guy telling the truth or just didn’t give a shit and dropped some lies to get away without a fine?

Would really like to hear your opinion about this situation.

Oh well, c’est la vie! Or in other words: It’s just another day in paradise 🙂

2 comments on “Another day in paradise

  1. Teo
    June 18, 2015

    Interesting point… To be honest, I was never in the “grey” area with this, I either had a ticket, or not (for different reasons).

    But the way I see it, I guess it depends on luck and karma. OK, maybe the guy just lied but his story was convincing, but if true, then I think his luck will balance out in another situation.

    I would also prefer having an equal non-discriminatory system, but as long as we are controlled by human beings, I think that is close to impossible. On the other hand, what would happen with all the funny stories about controllers? 🙂

    Like

    • C.M.
      June 18, 2015

      Yes, I agree with you. The chances that the same rules are equally applied for all people are pretty slim. Stories about controllers are always funny to hear! Good point! :))

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2015 by in Song of the day and tagged , , , , .
