Open Frankfurt

A blog about all and nothing

India (ep. 1)

I might have told you before, travelling is one of my favourite things to do. Some prefer to buy expensive jewellery, some clothes… others invest in cars, houses (ok, this actually isn’t a bad idea :p), I’d rather see a new place, discover a new culture.

Travelling to India is something I’ve been thinking about for years. 6 to be more precise. The reasons I didn’t do this before are pretty simple. I didn’t have the money, nor the time.

Finally I could manage to plan and take this trip to India 🙂 It also combines another, let’s say, dream of mine: volunteering. I have volunteered before, but it was more like ‘office volunteering’.

So, I am now in Goa. I came here with a program and will be working with children in a kindergarten, in slums, or with women in a shelter for abused women. The first week is a conducting one, which enables us to learn some more about the indian culture, to visit some places and also get accommodated with the heat and the time difference.

First impressions? It’s hard to say…It’s hard to express it in a way which would make sense for the most. Love and hate… on one side you see all the dirt, the houses that are barely standing, the poverty, different smells which are not necessarily nice. You ask yourself at the beginning: What the hell am I doing here?! You get frustrated… you can’t understand why people make such a mess… wouldn’t it be easier to keep clean? But then it hits you. There is much more to this than the mess and the bad smells! The fact that most of the people deal with extreme life conditions and still remain nice and warmhearted is a miracle itself.

A good friend of mine used to say: Where there is much light, there is also much darkness. I never quite understood why or how (probably also refused to accept such an idea), but I get the feeling that I’m starting to.

DSC_0010DSC_0013DSC_0017DSC_0018DSC_0027DSC_0030DSC_0040

(Photos taken in Mapusa/ at the market)

PS: The articles were written while I was in India (March-April), but couldn’t post them there because of the internet connection.

5 comments on “India (ep. 1)

  1. sloppy buddhist
    May 4, 2016

    CM thanks for these posts…so magical!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mopana
    April 26, 2016

    So, you’ve lived a miracle in India? That’s very nice to meet kind people no matter how poor they are.

    Liked by 1 person

    • C.M.
      April 27, 2016

      It was an amazing experience! I recommend it with all my heart 🙂 I think you will also like my future posts about India 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2016 by in India and tagged , , , , , , .
