Open Frankfurt

A blog about all and nothing: photography, travelling and more

Peace of mind

This is the village where I used to spend most of my holidays. At least 2 months each summer (in case you’re wondering, we had 3 months summer vacation).

Back then (in the 90’s) children used to play outside al day long, even if sometimes the temperature was over 35 degrees. When it got to around 40 degrees we eventually decided to seek shelter in the house. It always fascinated me how cold it was inside, although we didn’t have any air conditioning or fans. We also didn’t have mobile phones, laptops or other crazy gadgets. The only way to communicate with my mum, was by writing letters 🙂

One time after it rained we went out and jumped around in the puddles, ran in the mud… Event to this age I remember this experience as one of the most beautiful of my childhood. I was probably 9 or 10 years old. Come to think about it, I have a lot of cool memories related to this village. This is one of the reasons why I love to visit it every time I go to my home country.

There are so many stories, so many feelings, so many moments which  remind me of this village. For example, this is the place were I first drove. I was 14 years old and I drove my grandpa’s car from the 70’s. It’s perhaps hard for you to image, but this car still works :)) And no, it is not a well preserved old-timer. We are not that rich.

Things seem a lot more simple there. You are away from the big city, from traffic jams, crowds. At night it is so silent…probably many of you would have trouble falling asleep. It is also very dark. So dark you can see the stars, the Milky Way, different constellations. You could actually take a chair, put in the middle of the road and stare at the sky. This is, of course, something you could never do in the city.

A I already told you, maybe this is why I liked Goa so much and why I got used to it so fast. It reminded me of this very dear place 🙂

P.S.: Adela, this post is dedicated to you! 😉

1g2g3g4g6g

3 comments on “Peace of mind

  1. TheThingsILearnt
    March 14, 2017

    Beautiful Photos ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Corn (Korn) | Open Frankfurt

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 30, 2016 by in OFf the topic and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
