Open Frankfurt

A blog about all and nothing: photography, travelling and more

3 months (ep. 7)

It’s been 3 months since I got back from India. This is what I wrote back then in the airport:


Leaving the volunteer house was more difficult than I imagined. On one hand I was happy to go back home, on the other I knew I will really miss Goa, working with the kids, the people.

I would say without hesitation, this was a very rewarding and beautiful experience. It is something I thought about for so long, something I saw myself doing, BUT…the real thing left me speechless 🙂

Of course, there have been moments when I missed home a lot, when some things or people just annoyed me, it was not all perfect. Which is perfectly fine, because perfection doesn’t exist and what really matters is the big picture, not every single detail of it… for me, at least. There is this saying: Some people can’t see the forest, because of the trees. Well.. this is exactly what I mean.

If any of you is thinking about volunteering abroad (or not), I would advise you to start packing your bag :)) You will not regret doing it. I know I also had my doubts. Not necessarily about volunteering, but about coming alone to India for a month. It is in our nature to fear what we don’t know. But overcoming this fear, opens your eyes from a total new perspective.


Now I can confirm: I still miss Goa, I miss volunteering, teaching English, playing with the children, going to the beach on weekends… I miss having the feeling that my work has a purpose, makes a (small) difference for someone, helps a bit. Dare I say: makes the world a better place? … I don’t want to exaggerate, but I do believe in the power of good deeds, even if there are just small drops in an ocean. After all… the ocean is made out of drops.

“We know only too well that what we are doing is nothing more than a drop in the ocean. But if the drop were not there, the ocean would be missing something.”

(Mother Teresa)

MD5

(Marina Drive/ Mumbai)

2 comments on “3 months (ep. 7)

  1. lavieenrose2196
    July 17, 2016

    I’m so glad you enjoyed visiting my country. 🙂
    And the quote by Mother Teresa really sums it all, need I say more? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • C.M.
      July 17, 2016

      🙂 I was an amazing experience! I really hope I’ll come back some day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2016 by in India and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
